Score on Davie

I had some confusion about Score. There’s a spot across the street called the Speakeasy and for some reason, I thought that was the Score. I stood there, befuddled. But luckily, James was waiting patiently across the street and we were able to determine, for certain, that this was the place we’d agreed to review. So restaurant confirmed, bottoms comfortably seated outside and now for the big question….does the Score score?

James’ Brekkie

turkeyhashI think this was a first for Theresa and I – an alfresco breakfast, at Score in the West End. Cloud-filtered sunbeams and a table in the sidewalk-adjacent courtyard set the scene. The Score’s breakfast menu is varied and affordable. I selected the turkey hash, a nicely presented concoction of hashbrowns and roast turkey, both diced, mixed with cranberries and topped by two poached eggs with Hollandaise sauce. Tasty all-round, and accompanied by a “Good-moring-here’s-a-kick-in-the-pants” jalapeno cornbread muffin. Friendly, attentive servers. Minor note: the potatoes and turkey would benefit from a more rustic (i.e, less finely diced) presentation.

Theresa’s Brekkie

pierogiebrekkieI pass by the Score just about every day, but in the 8-odd years I’ve lived in the West End, I’ve never eaten there. I decided to order the most outrageous thing on the breakfast menu: scrambled eggs with bacon, sausage, pierogies (yes you read that correctly), hash browns, and sourdough toast. Yes, it was good. And yes, I ate every bit of it (except for the sausage, I am not really a big sausage fan, these were meh). The Score was packed within fifteen minutes of our seating and for may good reasons-good service, great food, awesome patio. I will definitely have to come back when I need a hangover breakfast, especially when I saw the waitress passing our table with a trayful of Bloody Marys garnished with onion rings. Does the Score score? Oh yeah, baby!

The details
James’s rating: 4 eggs out 5
Theresa’s rating: 4 eggs out of 5

Score on Davie on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

