Tomahawk Barbecue

So before you embark on a trip to the Tomahawk, let me give you some advice:

1. Wear loose pants.
2. Come hungry. Really hungry.
3. Keep your paper placemat.

Theresa’s Breakkie

On this adventure to breakfast-land my pal Kris and I visited the Tomahawk Barbecue. Everytime Kris and I would have breakfast or talk about the blog, he’d keep saying, “We have to go to the Tomahawk!” My expectations were therefore quite high. And I was not disappointed. I ordered the French toast with a side of Yukon style bacon. When it arrived, I wished I’d gotten the half portion. The dish consisted of four huge slices of brioche dipped in a slightly sweet, cinnamon-y batter (I could only eat two pieces). The bacon was exceptional: it was meaty, flavourful and plentiful. The Tomahawk also gets bonus points for offering several flavours of Numi Organic Tea. While you’re at the Tomahawk, take some time to enjoy the wonderful collection of Aboriginal art that lines the walls and lobby area (and keep your paper placement; it’s a riot!).

Kris’ Brekkie

The Tomahawk Barbecue, Vancouver’s oldest family run restaurant. I have lived in Vancouver since 1999 and this is only my second time to this historic restaurant. On my first visit I had an order of the fluffiest most perfect pancakes I have ever had out of my own kitchen. This time around I ordered The Bacon, Cheddar and Mushroom Omelette. The omelette came stuffed with with perfectly sautĂ©ed mushrooms,thick chunks of smokey, meaty Yukon style bacon and plenty of melted aged cheddar. Filling up the rest of the plate where diced hash browns and thick slices of multigrain toast. I prefer more of a home-style potato for my breakfast but the diced version where cooked to a crispy finish. If you want a trip into Vancouver history and a great breakfast then bring a hearty appetite into a cozy seat at the Tomahawk Restaurant.

The details:

Breakfast for two cost us $38.10
Theresa’s rating: 4 eggs out of 5
Kris’s rating: 4 eggs out of 5

Tomahawk Restaurant on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Tomahawk Barbecue

  1. we drove from seattle and extremely disappointed with the rude receptionist (the lady that seat the guests). Well to start with we were told that the wait is about 20 mins, but it took 40 mins for us to be seated not only that we were bypassed by another group for the reason i guess their party is 5 and only the 3 of us so the lady receptionist thought she can just bypass us from the queue and when i’ve asked her why she rudely told me that well these group called her ahead and when I asked the other guy the cashier if there’s reservation he said no they don’t take reservation on a busy weekend so how come they gave priority to these group? This is a bad restaurant management and do not prioritize other people at the expense of the other. Then we were finally seated the food came 35 mins late my son is already too hungry to even appreciate his burger. Food is ok, but i guess they need to completely re-thought the idea of putting that lady as the customer facing staff.
    btw, i left with not a single cents for a tip! the waitress is the best but sorry lady your tip just got ruined by the receptionist.

Leave a Reply

