Paul’s Place Omelettery Restaurant

Welcome to Egg and Soldiers: the quest for the perfect Vancouver breakfast.

We’re Jennifer and Theresa, two Vancouverites who think breakfast is not only the most important meal of the day, it’s the most fun! Every week or so, we’ll be reviewing a local restaurant and posting our comments here.

Have a favourite brekkie spot you’d like to recommend? Drop us a line at eggandsoldiers@gmail.com.

For our inaugural blog on breakfasting in Vancouver, we visited Paul’s Place Omelettery Restaurant on Granville Street at 5th Avenue.


Jennifer’s brekkie:

I wasn’t too sure about the idea of cream cheese in my omelette – a signature of the majority of Paul’s 3-cheese omelettes – so I stuck with the Florentine, which featured spinach, wild mushrooms and tangy feta. The omelette was decent, although I was more engaged by the thick whole grain toast with delicious homemade seedless raspberry jam. Mmmm.

With eyes bigger than my tummy (as my mother used to say), I also ordered a side of pan fries that were un-greasy and satisfying. I rounded out my breakfast with fresh-squeezed OJ and a hot, creamy cappuccino – deelish.

Theresa’s brekkie:
I have to confess I am not much of an omelette fan, so I was hoping the menu had other choices and I was not disappointed. I ordered the huevos rancheros: a very generous portion of sauteed mushrooms, onions, peppers, tomato, corn, salsa, cheese, and two poached eggs on a flour tortilla.

It was at good at is looks in the picture. The vegetables were fresh and crunchy, the eggs were poached just the way I like them (firm whites with half runny yolks-or as Jennifer would say – raw! yuck!).


The salsa was exceptional. I was expecting a couple a jalapenos, but I didn’t miss them: the salsa had a surprisingly bright flavour.

They get extra points for serving my tea in a ceramic tea pot. They did, however, serve the tea bag on the side, which bugs me.

The facts:
Paul’s Place Omelettery Restaurant
2211 Granville Street (at 5th)
Vancouver, BC
Open daily 7:00 am to 3:00 pm

Breakfast for two cost us $22.26
Theresa’s rating – 4 eggs out of 5
Jennifer’s rating – 3.5 eggs out of 5

One thought on “Paul’s Place Omelettery Restaurant

  1. The cream cheese in the omelettes sounds weird, but it really works, and I do recommend trying it. That cheese blend is what they’re most famous for, and people have been known to travel a long distance for it.

    Sadly, the restaurant is not what is was when the eponymous Paul still owned it, when it was for a time the best breakfast place in town.

Leave a Reply

