Miura Waffle Milk Bar

Most of the reviews on this blog are done by myself and a friend who joins me. But there are more times when it’s just me popping out for a quick brekkie somewhere.  Today, I finally stopped into the Miura Waffle Milk Bar; I pass by it almost every day and keep making a mental note to myself to see what it’s all about. Places like Miura pop up all the time…sometimes they’re indifferent, and sometimes, they’re a real hidden gem. I am glad to announce that Miura falls into the second category. Basically what they do is make waffle sandwiches. The waffles are freshly made and then stuffed with either sweet or savoury fillings. I ordered the special of the day which was a waffle stuffed with eggs, thinly sliced ham and cheese. The waffles were just the way waffles should be: crispy on the outside, and the ham was really tasty, not your standard deli ham crap that’s been force shaped into a loaf. I am definitely planning a return visit to try some of the sweet offerings.

So they got the good-ingredients-well-made part down pat. I also ordered an orange pekoe tea, and it was actually quite a good quality tea. But here’s my beef: I was eating in and they served it in a paper cup (and a larger sized cup costs 30 cents more). It’s obvious they spent the time and energy to choose their ingredients carefully and to prepare it nicely, so why not present it accordingly?  So in this spirit, I want to gently suggest to the young couple running this spot to visit the dollar store that’s a block away and invest in a few mugs. It’s that kind of detail that makes the experience a more pleasant one. I thank you and the environment thanks you.

The details:

Breakfast for one cost $8 and change

My rating: 3 eggs out of 5

Miura Waffle Milk Bar on Urbanspoon

 

Leave a Reply

